Start
6 August 2022
Duration
1 year
Presence
with attendance
Place
Interlaken and Zurich
ECTS
15
Fee
CHF 3,750

The Suzuki Method - a method that promises success

The interest in an optimal early support of children is increasing more and more in the educational landscape. In the instrumental field, too, it has been recognised that starting with music lessons in early childhoold holds great potential.

The Suzuki method has been used worldwide for decades and has been very successful. Many renowned soloists have started with this method: from Hilary Hahn to Vilde Frange to Julia Fischer. And many orchestra and amateur musicians also started their careers with Suzuki lessons and thus discovered their love of music.

Agathe Jerie - experienced lecturer in the training of Suzuki teachers and director of the International Children's Music School - leads the programme 

The so-called mother tongue method strengthens every child

The aim of this pedagogical approach, the so-called "mother tongue method", is to strengthen each child in its personality development by means of instrumental lessons and thus to support its development in an optimal way. In this context, the early start from the age of three is very favourable, as children make rapid progress at this time through imitative learning. Early childhood teaching builds on this kind of learning. It must be adapted to the developmental stage, the abilities and the special physiology of young children and requires well thought-out special didactics, which the students acquire in this degree programme.

To whom is this degree addressed?

Musicians with an interest in early childhood development and a violin (or viola) diploma with a university degree or equivalent qualification in performance or pedagogy. Professional teaching experience desirable but not required.

Teaching language

The courses in Interlaken (modules 1 and 2) are partly held in English. Good listening comprehension is sufficient for participation. Please indicate your language skills when registering. The other courses are held in German.

Admission requirements and registration

Registration is made by filling out the registration form and enclosing copies of your degrees and a short CV. Instead of an audition, please submit at the same time a short video/link of a piece you have played on the violin/viola (max. 5 min). The level must correspond to that of a Bachelor's degree in the main subject violin/viola. 

The admission committee decides on admission.
The minimum number of participants is 3 students.
Application deadline is 30 June 2022. 

Degree

Certificate of Advanced Studies UAS in Music Pedagogy Suzuki Method

Information on fees

The entire course costs CHF 3'750. Only modules 1 and 2 cost CHF 1'700.

Additional costs:

  • Participants must purchase the books "Education is Love" by S. Suzuki, "The First 10 Steps to Teaching" (also available in Interlaken) and "Beyond the Music Lessons" by Christine E. Goodner.
  • Participants pay for their own accommodation and meals.

Dates

The dates in Interlaken (6-13 August 2022) are fixed and compulsory, all other dates will be decided together with the participants in July (5 more weekends).

Programme Director and Head of Examinations
Xavier Pfarrer

Xavier Pfarrer

To the profile
Classic | Music
more... more...
Lecturer
Agathe Jerie

Agathe Jerie

To the profile
Music
more... more...
Facebook Twitter Xing LinkedIn WhatsApp E-Mail

Start
2. August 2020
Dauer
1 Jahr
Anwesenheit
Präsenzunterricht
Ort
Interlaken und Zürich
ECTS
15
Gebühr
CHF 3'750

Eine Methode, die Erfolg verspricht

Das Interesse an einer optimalen Frühförderung von Kindern nimmt in der Bildungslandschaft immer mehr zu. Auch im Instrumentalbereich hat man erkannt, dass der frühe Beginn des Unterrichts grosses Potential birgt.

Die Suzuki-Methode ist seit Jahrzehnten weltweit verbreitet und hat sehr gute Erfolge vorzuweisen. So haben viele namhafte SolistenInnen mit dieser Methode begonnen: von Hilary Hahn über Vilde Frange bis zu Julia Fischer. Und auch viele Orchester- und Amateur-MusikerInnen starteten ihre Laufbahn mit Suzuki-Unterricht und entdeckten so ihre Liebe zur Musik.

Agathe Jerie  erfahrene Dozentin in der Ausbildung von Suzuki-Lehrkräften und Leiterin der International Children's Music School   leitet die Weiterbildung. 

Die sogenannte Muttersprachen-Methode stärkt jedes Kind

Ziel dieses pädagogischen Ansatzes, der sogenannten „Muttersprachen-Methode“, ist es, jedes Kind in seiner Persönlichkeitsentwicklung mittels Instrumentalunterricht zu stärken und seine Entwicklung damit optimal zu unterstützen. Dabei ist der frühe Start ab drei Jahren sehr günstig, da Kinder zu diesem Zeitpunkt schnelle Fortschritte durch Nachahmungslernen machen. Der frühkindliche Unterricht baut auf dieser Art des Lernens auf. Er muss dem Entwicklungsstand, den Fähigkeiten und der speziellen Physiologie von Kleinkindern angepasst sein und erfordert eine durchdachte spezielle Didaktik, welche sich die Studierenden in diesem Studiengang aneignen.

An wen richtet sich dieser Studiengang?

MusikerInnen mit Interesse an der frühkindlichen Entwicklung und einem Violin- (oder Viola-) Diplom mit einem Hochschulabschluss oder gleichwertiger Qualifikation in Performance oder Pädagogik. Berufserfahrung im Unterrichten erwünscht, aber nicht Bedingung.

Unterrichtssprache

Die Kurse in Interlaken (Modul 1 und 2) finden teilweise auf Englisch statt. Gutes Hörverständnis reicht für die Teilnahme aus. Bei der Anmeldung bitte Sprachkenntnisse angeben. Der übrigen Kurse werden auf Deutsch abgehalten.

Zulassungsbedingungen und Anmeldung

Die Anmeldung erfolgt mit dem Ausfüllen des Anmeldeformulars unter Beilage von Kopien der Studienabschlüsse und einem kurzen CV. Anstelle eines Vorspiels reichen Sie bitte gleichzeitig ein kurzes Video/einen Link eines von Ihnen auf der Violine/Viola gespielten Stückes ein (max. 5 Min). Das Niveau muss dem eines Bachelor-Abschlusses im Hauptfach Violine/Viola entsprechen.  

Über die Zulassung entscheidet die Zulassungskommission.
Mindestteilnehmerzahl sind 3 Studierende.
Anmeldeschluss ist der 15. Juli 2020. 

Abschluss

Certificate of Advanced Studies FH in Musikpädagogik Suzuki-Methode

Informationen zu Gebühren

Die gesamte Weiterbildung kostet CHF 3‘750. Nur Module 1 und 2 kosten CHF 1’700.

Zusätzliche Kosten:

  • Die KursteilnehmerInnen beschaffen sich die Bücher „Erziehung ist Liebe“ von S. Suzuki, „die ersten 10 Unterrichts-Schritte“ (wird auch in Interlaken abgegeben) und „Beyond the music lessons“ von Christine E. Goodner.
  • Die Teilnehmer/innen kommen selber für Unterbringung und Verpflegung auf.
Facebook Twitter Xing LinkedIn Whatsapp E-Mail