Main Research Areas

Business Psychology

Economic activity is part of human nature. And human nature affects the economy.

Business Psychology examines the role of psychological processes in business transactions. Human decision-making and human behavior play a role in almost all macro and micro economic issues. Without people, there are no markets, no trade, no value added. Psychological processes determine how people act and interact in markets. Understanding the psychology of business is therefore a requirement for all market participants. And a competitive advantage for our research partners.

In our research area Business Psychology, we aim for a productive interaction between research and practice. Theoretical concepts and empirical evidence emerging from social, evolutionary and personality psychology are applied to practical issues arising in business. For this purpose, we apply a wide range of empirical data collection methods such as questionnaires, content analyses, experiments, and observations.

Examples of research topics addressed in Business Psychology are studies on image, consumer behavior, mobility of labour, decision-making processes and investigations into the link between attitudes and behavior.

In our research, we focus on the following areas of business psychology:

  • Image, consumption and communication
  • Attitudes, decision-making, and mental models
  • HR management and cooperation

Empirical Economic Research

In our second research area, Empirical Economic Research, we examine the driving forces and the results of economic activity. Our empirical research approach provides insights into the inner workings of the government-regulated, market-based system by analyzing, modeling and testing its processes and structures.

In terms of methodology, the research focus Empirical Economic Research has a broad foundation. A common basis is the focus on quantitative empirical analyses of market and non-market processes. For us, the economic theory provides primarily a reference point for innovative hypotheses that often go beyond the traditional theory.

The research questions addressed in our second research area, Empirical Economic Research, share several links with our research area Business Psychology. In addition to the closeness in terms of the content, methodological synergies result from the shared empirical orientation. Examples for such links are our image studies for regions, regional economic analyses of the causes of the developments in employment and population in Switzerland and analyses of private demand for public goods.

The research activities of Kalaidos Research are oriented towards the topics covered by the institutes at the Department of Business and Management. These are the main areas:

  • Tax, Accounting & Controlling and Trust
  • Business systems, ICT and corporate management with special emphasis on the financial sector
  • Behavioral Economics and Public Sector Economics

Here you will find our Positionspapier on Empirical Economics (in German).

Forschungsschwerpunkte

Wirtschaftspsychologie

Wirtschaftliches Handeln ist Teil der menschlichen Natur. Deshalb beeinflusst die menschliche Natur die Wirtschaft.

Die Wirtschaftspsychologie fragt nach der Rolle des Menschen in der Wirtschaft. In fast allen volks- und betriebswirtschaftlichen Fragen spielen Menschen eine zentrale Rolle. Ohne Menschen gibt es keine Märkte, keinen Handel, keine Wertschöpfung. Psychologische Prozesse bestimmen, wie Menschen auf Märkten interagieren. Die Psychologie der Wirtschaft zu kennen ist daher für sämtliche Marktteilnehmer eine Notwendigkeit. Und für unsere Forschungspartner ein Wettbewerbsvorteil.

In unserem Schwerpunkt Wirtschaftspsychologie stehen Forschung und Praxis in einem gewinnbringenden Wechselspiel. Theoretische Konzepte und empirische Erkenntnise aus Sozial-, Evolutions- und Persönlichkeitspsychologie werden auf die Praxis der Wirtschaft angewendet. Dazu wird eine breite Palette von empirischen Erhebungsmethoden genutzt, wie Beobachtung, Befragung, Inhaltsanalyse, Priming oder Experiment.

Beispielhafte Forschungsthemen der Wirtschaftspsychologie sind Image-Analysen, Studien über das Konsumverhalten, Arbeitsmobilität, Entscheidungsprozesse oder Analysen zum Zusammenhang von Einstellung und Handeln.

In unserem Fokus stehen aktuell die folgenden wirtschaftspsychologischen Forschungsfelder:

  • Image, Konsum und Kommunikation
  • Einstellungen, Entscheidungen und mentale Modelle
  • HR-Management und Zusammenarbeit

Empirische Wirtschaftsforschung

Im Forschungsschwerpunkt Empirische Wirtschaftsforschung befassen wir uns mit den treibenden Kräften und den Ergebnissen wirtschaftlichen Handelns. Unser empirischer Forschungsansatz gewährt Einblick in die inneren Zusammenhänge des staatlich regulierten, marktwirtschaftlichen Systems, indem wir seine Prozesse und Strukturen analysieren, modellieren und empirisch überprüfen.

In methodischer Hinsicht ist der Forschungsschwerpunkt Empirische Wirtschaftsforschung breit aufgestellt. Eine gemeinsame Basis bildet die Ausrichtung auf quantitative empirische Analysen marktlicher und aussermarktlicher Prozesse. Die ökonomische Theorie verstehen wir dabei in erster Linie als Referenzpunkt für innovative Hypothesen, die oft über die traditionelle Theorie hinausgehen.

Die Fragestellungen aus dem Forschungsschwerpunkt Empirische Wirtschaftsforschung weisen zahlreiche Schnittstellen zum Forschungsschwerpunkt Wirtschaftspsychologie auf. Neben der inhaltlichen Nähe ergeben sich methodische Synergien durch die empirische Ausrichtung. Beispiele solcher Schnittstellen sind unsere Imagestudien für Regionen, regionalökonomische Analysen der Ursachen der Beschäftigungs- und Bevölkerungsentwicklung in der Schweiz und Analysen der privaten Nachfrage für öffentliche Güter.

Die Forschungstätigkeit von Kalaidos Research, die sich im Bereich Empirische Wirtschaftsforschung eng an den Inhalten der Institute des Departements Wirtschaft anlehnt, verfolgt schwerpunktmässig folgende Themen:

  • Steuern, Accounting & Controlling und Treuhand
  • Businesssysteme, ICT und vernetzte Unternehmensführung mit besonderer Berücksichtigung des Finanzsektors
  • Verhaltensökonomie und Ökonomie des öffentlichen Sektors

Hier finden Sie unser Positionspapier zum Thema Empirische Ökonomie.