The balancing act between employment and family care

According to a study conducted in 2014 by the Swiss Federal Office of Public Health (BAG bulletin 36/2014), caring for relatives provides work valued at more than CHF 9.5 billion. Given that 80 % of people in need of care are looked after by relatives, the reconciliation of paid work and family care, also known as “work & care”, is no fringe phenomenon.

The Careum School of Health has been involved in “work & care” since 2007. Previous findings from company surveys send out a clear message: more than a quarter of the employees surveyed have experience of caring for relatives. Other research findings clearly show that there is a need for action in the area of “work & care”, as the number of people requiring care continues to increase.

Reasons for this include demographic changes and the increase in chronic illnesses. However, social changes are also of increasing significance for “work & care”: more single-person households, increasing divorce rates, relatives living far away from each other, more women at work and an increasing retirement age.

Federal Council action plan 

The federal government recognises the social and economic significance of “work & care”. At the end of 2014, as part of its “Health2020” agenda, the Federal Council presented an action plan to better support people looking after and caring for relatives.

The Federal Office of Public Health's support programme "Relief offers for caring relatives" researched the situation and needs of caring relatives. This is intended to serve the further development of relief offers; with the aim that care-giving relatives can retain their employment. In Switzerland, a representative population survey of children, adolescents and adults with or without employment was conducted. Read the final report here.

The framework conditions

Federal Council Report

Support of caring relatives

Learn more

Prof. Dr. Iren Bischofberger

To the profile
Chronically ill | Age | Care Management | Health | Home care | Interprofessionalism | Nursing | Qualitative research practice | Science | Scientific practice
more... more...
Facebook Twitter Xing LinkedIn Whatsapp E-Mail

La compatibilité entre emploi et soins aux proches

Les proches aidants fournissent un travail d’une valeur de plus de 9,5 milliards de francs, selon une étude de l’Office fédéral de la santé publique réalisée en 2014 (Bulletin OFSP 36/2014). Au total, 80% des personnes nécessitant des soins sont prises en charge par leurs proches. La nécessité de concilier exercice professionnel et prise en charge de proches – aussi désignée sous le terme «work & care» – est donc loin d’être un phénomène marginal.

Careum haute école de santé travaille sur la thématique du «work & care» depuis 2007. Les résultats obtenus grâce à des enquêtes dans les entreprises sont sans équivoque: plus d’un quart des collaborateurs interrogés ont déjà soigné des proches. Face au nombre toujours croissant de personnes ayant besoin de soins, les résultats d’autres recherches mettent en évidence une grande nécessité d’agir dans le domaine «work & care».

Le tournant démographique et la hausse des maladies chroniques expliquent notamment cette évolution. Néanmoins, les changements sociétaux participent aussi à l’importance croissante du «work & care»: accroissement du nombre des ménages d’une seule personne et du nombre de divorces, éloignement géographique des membres de familles, nombre croissant de femmes exerçant une activité professionnelle et élévation de l’âge de la retraite.

Plan d'action du Conseil fédéral 

La Confédération a reconnu l’importance sociale et économique du «work & care». Fin 2014, elle a élaboré un plan d’action dans le cadre de sa stratégie «Santé2020», afin de mieux soutenir les proches aidants et soignants.

Le programme de promotion «Offres visant à décharger les proches aidants» étude la situation et les besoins des proches aidants. Il doit permettre de renforcer les offres qui soutiennent les personnes concernées afin que celles-ci puissent poursuivre leur activité lucrative. Pour la Suisse, une enquête de population représentative a été réalisée: Besoins des proches aidants en matière de soutien et de décharge – enquête auprès de la population. Groupe d'étude: Enquête de population représentative de la Suisse auprès d'enfants, d'adolescents et d'adultes avec ou sans activité lucrative. Lisez le rapport final ici.

Les conditions-cadres

 

Rapport du Conseil fédéral

Support des proches aidants

Mehr erfahren

Prof. Dr. Iren Bischofberger

Vers le profil
Chronically ill | Age | Care Management | Health | Home care | Interprofessionalism | Nursing | Qualitative research practice | Science | Scientific practice
Facebook Twitter Xing LinkedIn Whatsapp E-Mail