The balancing act between employment and family care

According to a study conducted in 2014 by the Swiss Federal Office of Public Health (BAG bulletin 36/2014), caring for relatives provides work valued at more than CHF 9.5 billion. Given that 80 % of people in need of care are looked after by relatives, the reconciliation of paid work and family care, also known as “work & care”, is no fringe phenomenon.

The Careum School of Health has been involved in “work & care” since 2007. Previous findings from company surveys send out a clear message: more than a quarter of the employees surveyed have experience of caring for relatives. Other research findings clearly show that there is a need for action in the area of “work & care”, as the number of people requiring care continues to increase.

Reasons for this include demographic changes and the increase in chronic illnesses. However, social changes are also of increasing significance for “work & care”: more single-person households, increasing divorce rates, relatives living far away from each other, more women at work and an increasing retirement age.

Federal Council action plan 

The federal government recognises the social and economic significance of “work & care”. At the end of 2014, as part of its “Health2020” agenda, the Federal Council presented an action plan to better support people looking after and caring for relatives.

The Federal Office of Public Health's support programme "Relief offers for caring relatives" researched the situation and needs of caring relatives. This is intended to serve the further development of relief offers; with the aim that care-giving relatives can retain their employment. In Switzerland, a representative population survey of children, adolescents and adults with or without employment was conducted. Read the final report here.

The framework conditions

Federal Council Report

Support of caring relatives

Learn more

Prof. Dr. Iren Bischofberger

To the profile
Chronically ill | Age | Care Management | Health | Home care | Interprofessionalism | Nursing | Qualitative research practice | Science | Scientific practice
more... more...
Facebook Twitter Xing LinkedIn Whatsapp E-Mail

Im Spagat zwischen Erwerbsarbeit und Angehörigenpflege

Pflegende Angehörige leisten Arbeit im Wert von über 9,5 Milliarden Franken. So schätzt es eine Studie des Bundesamts für Gesundheit von 2014 (BAG-Bulletin 36/2014). 80 Prozent der Pflegebedürftigen werden von Angehörigen betreut. Die Vereinbarkeit von Erwerbstätigkeit und Angehörigenpflege – auch als «work & care» bezeichnet – ist vor diesem Hintergrund kein Randphänomen.

Die Careum Hochschule Gesundheit beschäftigt sich bereits seit 2007 mit «work & care». Die bisherigen Ergebnisse aus Umfragen in Betrieben sprechen eine deutliche Sprache: Mehr als ein Viertel der befragten Mitarbeitenden haben Erfahrung in der Angehörigenpflege. Weitere Forschungsresultate zeigen eindeutig, dass im Bereich «work & care» Handlungsbedarf besteht, weil die Zahl der pflegebedürftigen Personen weiter zunimmt.
Gründe dafür sind unter anderem der demografische Wandel und die Zunahme chronischer Erkrankungen. Zur wachsenden Bedeutung von «work & care» tragen aber auch gesellschaftliche Veränderungen bei: Mehr Einpersonenhaushalte, steigende Scheidungsraten, weit auseinander lebende Familienangehörige, mehr erwerbstätige Frauen und ein steigendes Pensionsalter.

Aktionsplan des Bundesrats

Der Bund hat die gesellschafts- und wirtschaftspolitische Bedeutung von «work & care» erkannt. Ende 2014 hat der Bundesrat als Teil der Agenda «Gesundheit2020» einen Aktionsplan vorgelegt, um betreuende und pflegende Angehörige besser zu unterstützen.

Das Förderprogramm «Entlastungsangebote für betreuende Angehörige» des Bundesamtes für Gesundheit erforschte die Situation und die Bedürfnisse von betreuenden und pflegenden Angehörigen. Dies soll der Weiterentwicklung von Entlastungsangeboten dienen; mit dem Ziel, dass betreuende Angehörige ihre Erwerbstätigkeit beibehalten können. Für die Schweiz wurde eine repräsentative Bevölkerungsbefragung von betreuenden Kindern, Jugendlichen und Erwachsenen mit oder ohne Erwerbstätigkeit durchgeführt. Lesen Sie hier den Schlussbericht.

Die Rahmenbedingungen


work & care facts

 

Bundesratsbericht

Support des proches aidants

Mehr erfahren

Forschungsprogrammleiterin
Iren Bischofberger

Prof. Dr. Iren Bischofberger

Zum Profil
Alter | Care Management - Pflege Management | Chronisch krank | Gesundheit | Home Care - Häusliche Pflege | Interprofessionalität | Nursing | Qualitative Forschungspraxis | Wissenschaft | Wissenschaftspraxis
more... more...
Facebook Twitter Xing LinkedIn Whatsapp E-Mail